Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

Winter Apparel Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2005, 07:11 AM
Squid

mks8882
Winter Apparel Recommendations

I'm fairly new to riding, bought the SH in February. This will be my first winter and I wanted to get everyone’s opinions on winter riding gear. Mainly Jackets, gloves and pants. I just want to get an idea of what’s out there so I'll know what to look for. I would like to have a jacket with a removable liner so I can wear it in the summer, but if the ones with removable liners aren't as warm in the winter as others I'll get one w/o it. Thank in advance!
Old 10-11-2005, 07:21 AM
Back Marker

Utah996
ICON and Joe Rocket come to mind, or at least that is what I have been looking at. They have a number of jackets that are decently priced. There are a few other companies, but nothing is coming to mind.....
Old 10-11-2005, 08:01 AM
MotoGP

superbling is on a distinguished road
Re: Winter Apparel Recommendations

Is this for commuting or general riding?

Basic recommendations:

Get black so you won't ever have to worry about "matching" bike colors.

Have you thought about a heated vest? This will keep your interior body regulator/thermometer toasty and allow it to pump more warm blood to all your extremeties thus keeping your warm all over.

IMO, leather will be a 3 season gear in the hot/humid south. Plan on a mesh/textile jacket for the really oppressive months.

Get waterproof boots.

Buy roomy so you can add layers.

Think about getting overpants (especially if you commute) which by design are roomy too.

Here's what I'd get in the jacket department. FirstGear has first rate (pun intended) quality. That it has huge vents and you can get amour would seal the deal for me:

http://www.newenough.com/firstgear_t...acket_page.htm

Plus it will look good off the bike as a normal winter jacket

Doug
PS I'm in the deep south so what I know about cold I learned from the internet!
Old 10-11-2005, 08:55 AM
Squid