Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

Questions on buying my first track leather

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2009, 02:14 AM
Street Fighter
Squid

Denverhawk is on a distinguished road
Questions on buying my first track leather

My buddy and I are trying to do our first trackday at the end of this summer so I am looking for a one-piece leather. Today I tried on 4 suits from 3 manufacturers, size 44/54 seems my best fit although I wear a 46/56 jacket (6ft 1 1/2in with 34 waist 36 inseam and 180 lb after a big dinner) Everything I tried had slack in the belly but I'm not expecting miracles as I'm all knees and elbows. I am interested in thoughts/advice on picking the right suit for me. I'm considering all options as I am a total noob at the track (never even dirt bikes); new, used, online, or clearance with budget and safety as the main concerns. I've seen Texports for as low as $350 on ebay and bottom-end Feildsheer suits for $550. I've never heard of these two companies(other then the recent Feildsheer thread). A-star and Teknic both have base model suits around $800. I want to be safe and comfortable, (looking and feeling cool would be nice too) but also don't know if this is rely something I'll do allot. And if I do it often, what I want in a suit will be a lot more evident. I have to admit that something slightly used for around $500 seems appealing. What do you guys think?
Old 07-29-2009, 03:48 AM
Superstock

FTMS is on a distinguished road
You won't find a suit that will fit you right with out getting a custom one. I am 6'6" and my suit fits about the same way. One thing to also consider is if you are going to wear hard armor chest and back protection under it. The track days I do require you to have hard spine armor.

Try motorcyclecloseouts.com
Old 07-29-2009, 08:54 AM
Back Marker

gssbmm