Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

flow commander adjustment

Old 05-31-2012, 07:40 PM
Squid

toeknee19 is on a distinguished road
flow commander adjustment

I have a flow commander installed and ive been adjusting it over time and can't seem to find a good setting. If i adjust it all the way out or all the way in ....seems like minimal difference. Ive looked on websites and youtube but haven't found any luck yet.
Old 05-31-2012, 08:28 PM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
I have been running one for a few years now and in many ways felt the way you do. This is not to say I felt no effect, but suffice to say I found it to be somewhat subtle. A tuning experiment two weeks ago, however, exposed me to a new dimension of "effectiveness" I didn't think it had.

I had just finished making an airbox mod to my VTR (added a second 4.5mm "shim" under the air filter). When I rode off, with the F-C set at 2.5 turns out, the bike ran like crap, a significant lag in response and surging at steady throttle. Less than 5 minutes after leaving the house, I was about to return home and "undo" what had taken me a few hours to complete when I thought I'd give the F-C a try (besides, what did I have to lose?). Three "fine tuning" stops later, I settled on the screw set at 1/2 turn out, the bike now a revelation (and blast to ride!). Response was instant, surging was gone, and bike pulled harder than before the mod. I now have a newfound respect for the device as it saved me from at least one or two tank removal-airbox removal-carb removal,.... sessions; two turns of a screw took me from despair to elation in a few short minutes, all thanks to the jetting adjustment range (I didn't think it had). Now, it must be said that I happened to test it in its most effective adjustment range area, the screw becoming ever-more effective (and sensitive) as it closes...
Old 05-31-2012, 09:03 PM
SuperSport