Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Exhaust VS. straight pipes

Old 08-09-2007, 03:48 PM
Squid

VTR-2-GO is on a distinguished road
Exhaust VS. straight pipes

This may seem like a stupid question, but I need to ask. Recently I have been looking at different aftermarket exhaust systems. I have found that many of them use a straight through pipe instead of using baffles like the stock pipes. My question is this. If the aftermarket pipe is straight through, what is the difference if you were to just take the stock pipes off and add additional pipe to the mounting location of choice. (ie. underseat, shotgun style etc.) No can, just additional pipe. Is there something that the can is offering that I am not seeing? Like I say, I am no exhaust expert, so I am sure there is something that I am not seeing here. Just curious what it is.

Thanks in advance
Old 08-09-2007, 03:52 PM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
a whole lot of noise suppression for one thing
Old 08-09-2007, 03:59 PM
Squid

I would assume so, however I have heard these bikes with no exhaust and then I have heard them with a few of these straight through systems as well. To be honest I did not think there was that much of a difference between no pipes and the straight through. I have never heard the scenarios side by side so maybe there is more of a difference then I could really tell. If so, I wonder if the sound is the only difference.
Old 08-09-2007, 04:43 PM
MotoGP

superhawk22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Even though you can see straight through the can it still has a baffle in it that makes it quieter and provides back pressure. If you didn't have the back pressure you could burn up your valves not to mention **** off a bunch of people including the ones who ride around in cars with lights on them.
Old 08-09-2007, 04:57 PM
Squid

Originally Posted by superhawk22