Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Big Man Little Bike Shock Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2008, 01:03 PM
Squid

fairfoebass is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Big Man Little Bike Shock Recommendations

Hey guys, total newb to the site here and new to VTR ownership, (i pick up my first '98 on Tuesday). I've owned an old cbr600 for awhile now and it had so many quirks I didnt know if it was me or the bike making me hang on for dear life half the time. Finally stepping up to a real platform more tailored to me... Or at least im hoping it is. I'm 6'1" and 340lbs. thats a big load for anything short of a vtx1800 but ive ridden sport bikes for years without meeting terra firma once. My question is what recommendations do you guys have for a better rear shock set up that may be better equipped to handle my... "petite" frame? Any ideas will help as I have huge plans for this bike and look forward to sharing her with you guys as it goes. Thanks in advance for all the help! BTW- you can thank yourselves for gaining another VTR in the ranks, I was researching them as a possiblity and once i found this site and read all your comments I was sold. Thanks again!
Old 05-31-2008, 08:44 PM
Administrator
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
I'm in the same boat as you, except the waterline on my boat is a bit shallower at 225#! Your best bet is to get a Wilbers, Penske, or Ohlins sprung for your weight. They're not cheap but if you want proper suspension setup then it's just one of those things you'll have to accept, like paying more for clothes, etc.
Old 06-03-2008, 05:19 PM
Fastest Color
SuperBike

FL02SupaHawk996 is on a distinguished road
Penske

Originally Posted by Hawkrider