Modifications - Cosmetic Discuss aftermarket and DIY cosmetic modifications

Powder Coating rims

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2008, 03:16 AM
Back Marker

smack doogle is on a distinguished road
Powder Coating rims

Okay, I'm planning on purchasing some 6-spoke rims for the SuperHawk. CBR900 rear and VFR or F3 front. I plan to have them powdercoated white before they are installed. First question, anyone know a good powder coater in new england (decent price a plus). Also, before they get powdercoated I have to take the bearings out. Should I buy new bearings for 900rr rim and F3 rim from bikebandit or someplace? I am new to this so be gentle. Any suggestions would be helpful
Old 09-04-2008, 05:07 AM
Back Marker

seaton001 is on a distinguished road
I took my rims to a place in Windsor CT. A little bit of a drive from you, but they did a real good job. Cleaned them all up, taped all of the area where the bearings, rotors, and bolts would go. They did it all for $50 a wheel. You could also check out Airborne Coatings they do powdercoating as well and they are pretty well known. As for the bearings; I replaced all of the bearings from AllBalls Racing.

http://www.goallballs.com/home.asp

Just chuck the bearings in the freezer for a day or so and leave your wheels in the sun. The new bearings go in without a fuss.

Let me know if you want the name of the place I did mine and I can look it up for you. He had my wheels back to me in a day.
Old 09-04-2008, 06:00 AM
Back Marker

Originally Posted by seaton001
I took my rims to a place in Windsor CT. A little bit of a drive from you, but they did a real good job. Cleaned them all up, taped all of the area where the bearings, rotors, and bolts would go. They did it all for $50 a wheel. You could also check out Airborne Coatings they do powdercoating as well and they are pretty well known. As for the bearings; I replaced all of the bearings from AllBalls Racing.

http://www.goallballs.com/home.asp