General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Should I start racing??

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2005, 07:05 PM
MotoGP

superbling is on a distinguished road
Re: Should I start racing??

I have no racing experience but if it were me I would:

1) Take a track school on the VTR to see if I have what it takes and if I will be hooked enough to pursue racing.

2) Get a dedicated track bike not my steetbike. Period. Run as many track days as possible until I feel ready for racing. But don't get a 600 4cylinder RR. That's a crashfest shark pool. Try a ninja 500 twin or something similar that can be run in lots of classes.

3) I'd really try to hitch a ride on a local endurance team. Best bang for the racing experience buck there is and a cheap way to get a lot of seat time on a built up race replica.

4) If all the above worked out, THEN I get the latest greatest race replica and rip it up in the "big boy" classes.

Think of these 4 levels in american football terms: 1 is the middle school basics, 2 is making the high school team, 3 is getting a collegiate scholarship, and 4 is signing with a pro team. If you know football, then you'll know that there are literally millions of players at the first level but only a couple of thousand make it to level 4.

I look forward to hearing from our forum track members.
Old 05-02-2005, 10:36 PM
Squid

mhutch

Originally Posted by superbling";p=&quot
I have no racing experience but if it were me I would:

1) Take a track school on the VTR to see if I have what it takes and if I will be hooked enough to pursue racing.

2) Get a dedicated track bike not my steetbike. Period. Run as many track days as possible until I feel ready for racing. But don't get a 600 4cylinder RR. That's a crashfest shark pool. Try a ninja 500 twin or something similar that can be run in lots of classes.