General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

SH nOoB with questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2006, 01:57 AM
Squid

MrFurious29
SH nOoB with questions

Hey guys!

I'm new to both SH's and this forum, but have been riding in one form or another for about 24 years. Dirtbikes, quads, cruisers, sportbikes....you name it, I've dabbled in it.

For the last 2 years I have had to live without a bike, but fortunately I'm back to a point financially where I can rekindle that old flame. The plan is to pick up a clean used SH for sport-touring fun, but I wanted to ask all you SH owners if there's any problem areas I should look out for when selecting one. I spent most of the evening perusing the forum gathering information which has answered a lot of my questions on what mods are recommended/necessary to make up for factory shortcomings. What I'm more interested in though is what possible age-related or owner-neglect issues there are with the SH that I should keep an eye out for? (i.e. bearings, bushing, seals, etc.)

I'd also be interested in hearing everyone's opinion on what their top 5 recommended mods would be to better an otherwise bone stock bike for casual day trips and the occassional long haul. Mostly I'm looking for feedback on ergonomic and reliability upgrades, but I do have the usual perfomance mods planned as well such as exhaust, gearing, and brakes.
Old 07-14-2006, 04:45 AM
Back Marker

vtrgeoff
The top five, eh?

1) Suspension - Racetech springs up front/Gold valving if you do track days. Olhins out back if you have lots of $$$$.
2) Sargent seat
3) Exhaust - let the Vtwin roar out of the can. Leo Vince/Akropovic/V&H/etc
4) Brake/clutch lines....braided SS
5) APE - cam chain tensioners

There are lots of other mods, but most are for poseur points or tack related. One other addition for sport touring applications is a Ventura rack system.

Geoff in Almonte
99VTR (105,000 happy kilometres)
Old 07-14-2006, 07:39 PM
Administrator
World Champion