New Hawk Owner!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2009, 06:48 PM
New Hawk Rider
Superstock

eersfanpilot is on a distinguished road
New Hawk Owner!!!

Evening all.

I am finally fulfilling a goal of mine and buying a yellow Hawk. This will be my second bike. I am rather new to riding but have spent the last year on a 75 CB360T. I do not do any extreme riding, just putting around town mainly enjoying the freedom and relaxation.

Any advice on the bike would be greatly appreciated. I pick the bike up on the 9th and can't wait!
Old 07-26-2009, 07:13 PM
Superstock

steve.g is on a distinguished road
The main issues are the cam chain tensioners (CCTs) and the regulator/rectifier (R/R). Do a search and you will find lots of helpful info... Post up some pics when you get your bike and welcome...
Old 07-26-2009, 07:15 PM
Back Marker

Dave in NY is on a distinguished road
Congratulations and welcome! Post pics when you get a chance. The 'hawk actually does lend itself to more relaxed riding (if that's your choice) 'cause of the torque, but you'll find it's a huge step up from the little Fours from the '70s. Don't whack the throttle open in first unless you're looking to reduce front tire wear...

Common things to watch out for are cam chain tensioner failure (CCTs) and regulator/rectifiers going south. Thre's lots of advice here dealing with both those problems, outside of that it's a reliable ride. You might want to think about saving up for some suspension upgrades too, if you're planning on keeping her for a while.

So you're a WVU fan, eh? My parents have a place a little south of Morgantown; I follow the 'eers and Cal. Steve Slaton was very good to me in last year's fantasy league, but I think the secret's out now...

Cheers!
Old 07-26-2009, 07:42 PM
New Hawk Rider
Superstock