General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

New Guy Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2010, 05:24 PM
Squid

Meierznutz is on a distinguished road
New Guy Questions

Ok, so like it says, I'm the new guy. Just traded a 90 Mazda Miata for a 98 Superhawk with 30k miles on it. Bike looks good and runs good, no signs that she's been thrown down and other than a scuff or two on the top of the tank she is in great shape. I'm new to these but not new to bikes as I have owned about 6 and can honestly say I have over 50 k miles under my belt. SOOOO, what do I need to watch for with these? Is there something I should watch for? Thanks all....
Old 12-17-2010, 05:32 PM
MotoGP

7moore7 is on a distinguished road
Welcome to the forum! And pics of the chicken when you get the chance...

These bikes run long and need little, the two things you should look for are replacing the CCT's and R/R. Both are at or under $100 fixes and take a day to do if you're really going slow. The more experienced on here can do either in an hour. If you need more info ask around but instructions and opinions are easy to find using the search feature. Other than that, ride and mod as you please!

If the cct's go out your engine is done (99% of the time) and if the R/R burns out you have no usable electricity...

Last edited by 7moore7; 12-17-2010 at 05:34 PM.
Old 12-17-2010, 05:39 PM
JPP
Superstock

JPP is on a distinguished road
Nice roads over in your parts. I was riding with a bud near Lake Winnemaug this past summer. I remember "Oakville" on a sign somewhere. We do the Marcus Dairy run about 3 or 4 times a season. I have yet to see a Hawk there.

Um... great bike and great forum.
jp
Old 12-17-2010, 05:50 PM
Squid

Thanks for the warm welcome folks. I spend a lot of time carving back roads with my Miatas {Miatai?}. I am on my forth one this year, I keep fixing them up and people keep giving me money for them.