General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

complete newbie... flame away!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 09:51 AM
Umm...I'm awesome. Duh...
Squid

shake-n-bake is on a distinguished road
complete newbie... flame away!!!

so heres the deal, got this bike as a first bike and been fixing it to get it road ready while im saving up to take the classes and get my endorsement. when i got it, it had no pressure in the clutch and would die right away as soon as you put it in first. rebuilt the clutch master and finally had pressure on the handle. would put it in gear and would still die. thought alright lets rebuild the slave and see if that does anything. still doing the same thing. finally called up one of my buddies and asked him to come over to take a look at it. he told me to go outside while on the phone put the kickstand up and try it again. voila. thing didnt die and clutch feels perfect. haha all this time it was the damn safety on the kickstand i didnt know about. haha well im glad thats all it was and not anything more cause i was about at complete witts end with the thing
Old 05-28-2011, 11:08 AM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road
Absentmindedly taking off with the sidestand down can be a real butt puckering moment when you make the first left turn, and could cause a rider to go down. Especially as a new rider, you should be thankful for the sidestand switch.

Take the MSF course, then have fun on one of the best bikes out there. But respect the power. It's much easier to dial it on than it is to bleed it off.

The SuperHawk is very forgiving compared to, say a CBR1000RR, but it is not a beginners bike.
Old 05-28-2011, 11:10 AM
SuperSport
SuperSport

geekonamotorcycle is on a distinguished road
Welcome and good luck. Be respectful of that throttle and always stay aware and make an escape plan on the road. You are invisible!
Old 05-28-2011, 09:13 PM
Back Marker

ninjagoalie is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by geekonamotorcycle