Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Headlight relays, HID headlight and a delay

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2015, 11:49 AM
Rex Kramer-Thrill Seeker
SuperBike

CruxGNZ is on a distinguished road
Headlight relays, HID headlight and a delay

I just recieved my D2S with 35W ballast from The Retrofit Source. I want to install a relay setup for the headlights with a delay. I have two 20A mini Panasonic relays (what Eastern Beaver uses) and 12 gauge wire. I want to wire a delay into this for startup. I found this. This will be wired to trigger the low beam relay. I'm thinking 10-15 second delay should be plenty for me.

Anyone see a problem with using that delay timer?
Old 04-26-2015, 12:11 PM
SuperBike

scottiemann is on a distinguished road
Im no expert but I do my own electronics projects and will be wiring my headlight on its own relayed circuit (not HID) but where would this be located in the circuit because its only 8amps...

like I said Im not an expert and cant picture electronics circuits without a schematic in front of me
Old 04-26-2015, 12:37 PM
Rex Kramer-Thrill Seeker
SuperBike

The delay device would trigger the low beam relay. The delay won't see the amps of the headlight system.

You turn the bike on with the key and the low beam comes on, right? This delay would be wired to delay that voltage to the low beam relay.
Old 04-26-2015, 04:36 PM
SuperBike

well its a 12v rated component (which I assume means 15v peak) and as long as the that part of the circuit doesnt exceed 8A you should be good to atleast try it. I would use a 5A or 7.5A fuse in line on that part of the circuit. but in my honest opinion 15 seconds is a long time but its adjustable so I say go for it, its only a couple dollars...
Old 04-26-2015, 05:45 PM
Rex Kramer-Thrill Seeker
SuperBike