Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Factory Pro Shift Kit with Detent Arm

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2008, 05:08 PM
Superstock

FTMS is on a distinguished road
Factory Pro Shift Kit with Detent Arm

I got around to installing this the other day, so I thought I would do an install guide to help anyone out with this. If some of the pictures are a little blurry, sorry, I am a mechanic not a photographer.

First thing to do is throw their instruction's away. They are horrible.

You could do this without draining your oil if you do this with the bike on the side stand. I would recomend draining the oil. You will probally get some coolant in the oil when you pull the clutch cover off.

Remove your fairing to gain easy acces to the clutch cover. You can either drain your coolant or pinch off the coolant lines to the waterpump.

Name:  Picture1.jpg
Views: 361
Size:  147.8 KB

Loosen you radiator to make it easier to get the main coolant line off the water pump.

Name:  Picture2.jpg
Views: 303
Size:  136.5 KB

Remove the bolts holding both the waterpump and clutch cover on except for the one noted. This way the water pump will stay attached to the cover.

Name:  Picture4.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  122.3 KB

Disconnect the pulse genorator wire connection behind the left raidator and pull clear.

Name:  Picture3.jpg
Views: 268
Size:  148.1 KB

Work the cover and water pump assembly off. There are 2 dowel pins that help align the cover that can stick a bit to get the cover off.

Name:  Picture5.jpg
Views: 281
Size:  206.8 KB

With the cover off you can see the arm tucked behind the cutch on the left side of the screen.

Name:  Picture6.jpg
Views: 407
Size:  181.5 KB

Remove the bolt holding the arm on. There is a washer on the backside of the arm. The Factory Pro spring is a larger diameter wire and stiffer. The detent arm with the ball bearing end is a lot nicer than the washer that is on the OEM one.

Name:  Picture7.jpg
Views: 471
Size:  63.7 KB