Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

2000 Hawk w/22k jumps out of 2nd @ 7k

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2007, 12:57 PM
jet wrench
Back Marker

loserbaby is on a distinguished road
2000 Hawk w/22k jumps out of 2nd @ 7k

Bought my S-Hawk used with 22k miles and other than some mild fairing abuse seems pretty clean. Bitch is... when I hit about 7k in second gear (not very necessary) it jumps into neutral consistently, did it before and after oil change. Don't know what was in it but I'm using Mobil 1 Full syn for Motorcycles 10w-40. As read elsewhere shifting from 1st to 2nd is clunky and trying at times. I am only a few months from some potential downtime and wonder if I can adjust or change a gearbox component to rectify this. I am a lifelong mechanic, just looking for some possible prior experience for advice... the Honda shop will NEVER see my bike.
Old 07-24-2007, 01:18 PM
SuperBike

killer5280 is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by loserbaby
Bought my S-Hawk used with 22k miles and other than some mild fairing abuse seems pretty clean. Bitch is... when I hit about 7k in second gear (not very necessary) it jumps into neutral consistently, did it before and after oil change. Don't know what was in it but I'm using Mobil 1 Full syn for Motorcycles 10w-40. As read elsewhere shifting from 1st to 2nd is clunky and trying at times. I am only a few months from some potential downtime and wonder if I can adjust or change a gearbox component to rectify this. I am a lifelong mechanic, just looking for some possible prior experience for advice... the Honda shop will NEVER see my bike.
This is common. Mine does it sometimes, and has only gotten a little worse since I have owned it (I'm the third owner). It's probably a buggered shift fork (it doesn't take much), which unfortunately requires splitting the cases to fix.