Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

Leather jackets and suits, low to mid priced, recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2005, 04:26 PM
faz
Superstock

faz
Leather jackets and suits, low to mid priced, recommendation

I have been loosing weight for the last 3 months or so (25 lbs so far and another 10 or so to go), and as such I will be looking at getting another leather jacket, or a suit.

I am not looking to spend a lot of money on this, as I will be buying a custom made suit later on when I reach and maintain my final weight.

I have had AGVsport jacket, that I liked. It was pretty thick and heavy, which I assume it is good for crash. Thankfully never crashed to find out.

I have also had a Dainese jacket that I liked very much, but it is too loose now and I am selling it to a coworker.

What should I be looking for in a leather jacket, or leather suit? Yes, the high end suits are priced right for those who can afford them, and have all of the options. But please, remember the purpose of this thread... recommendations on good quality leather jackets and suits, priced low ($150 jacket, $300 suit) to medium ($250 jacket, $500 suit.)

For example, say Teknic lightning vs. chican vs. violator, which ones should be avoided totally, and which ones are better??

Also, I don't want a permanent suit that will withstand many get offs. If it saves my *** once, and I have to throw it away, it is good enough for me.

(I am assuming many newbies will have the same sort of questions, so your contribution to this thread may serve many people, including me.)
Old 03-22-2005, 04:55 PM
SuperBike

Thumper is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Leather jackets and suits, low to mid priced, recommenda

http://www.newenough.com/index2.htm

I bought a new set of one piece Teknic leathers for $300.00 a year ago. Don't let the site name fool you. They are almost all new apparel, but may be last years model at a reduced price, which is fine by me.
Old 03-22-2005, 05:09 PM