Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

Carbon fiber body armor?

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 11:17 AM
Back Marker

Big Shepp is on a distinguished road
Carbon fiber body armor?

I'm a mechanical engineering student at OU, and one of my buddies on the OU race team (they build a mini Indy race car and compete in it) said that they sometimes get to mess around with all the machine shop equipment and everything.

Anyways, he told me they fabbed up a bunch of random stuff made of carbon fiber just for fun. What are everyone's thoughts about carbon fiber body panels in a jacket? I figure if we did it I'd use my current armor or make a custom template that fits better.

I'm not very worried about the weight, I'm used to carrying a bit of weight around on my shoulders/back. I figured that carbon fiber would be a bit better in the event of a crash, especially for the back armor, and I'd put a layer of gel padding underneath it.

Unfortunately my understanding is we couldn't produce the pieces for sale because they're technically University property, but we're allowed to use them for personal use. But once a working prototype was available it wouldn't take much to produce them.

Comments? Questions? I'd love to hear everyone's opinion on this.
Old 08-24-2011, 11:30 AM
SuperBike

Old Yeller is on a distinguished road
personally, I would not spend the money on them because they would likely be somewhat expensive. I don't hold a lot of extra value to CF when it comes to my jacket protection becuase my plastic pieces (CV) under the leather has taken some pretty good shots and done quite well at saving my body parts.

I would THINK that if they were significantly better the race industry would be using them more, and I don't think I see that there, although someone may be able to correct me on that part.

OTOH, if you wanna give it a try, it couldn't hurt. When you crash test them, let us know how they worked!

(not really....please don't wreck!!!!)