Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Need jetting advice.

Old 01-13-2011, 06:34 PM
Squid

Bandit00085 is on a distinguished road
Need jetting advice.

I need to know if anyone has an idea as to what jets I need to install, I'm using a stock filter and a Jardine GP1 exhaust. Its running really lean right now. Thanks
Old 01-13-2011, 06:57 PM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road
I can just tell you what I did, on the advice of another Forum member.

I installed 48 pilot/slow jets and adjusted the pilot screws 2.5 turns out. I had shimmed the needles .020" before installing my slip-ons.

It runs great with the Yosh street baffles in or out. Most of my riding is from sea level to 3000 feet. I was actually too rich above 2500 feet with my initial pilot screw adjustment of 2.75 out. It wouldn't idle at that alitiude, so I went back to 2.5 turns out. I've been riding it that way for about 6 months now.
Old 01-13-2011, 09:43 PM
SuperSport

ranchomice is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by VTRsurfer

I installed 48 pilot/slow jets and adjusted the pilot screws 2.5 turns out. I had shimmed the needles .020" before installing my slip-ons.

It runs great with the Yosh street baffles in or out. Most of my riding is from sea level to 3000 feet. I was actually too rich above 2500 feet with my initial pilot screw adjustment of 2.75 out. It wouldn't idle at that alitiude, so I went back to 2.5 turns out. I've been riding it that way for about 6 months now.
+1....Yeah that!
I have Erion cans and pretty much that exact setup, runs great! No need to change out mains, just shim the needles. The pilots (#48) are $4.00
Old 01-20-2011, 04:34 AM
Squid

Bandit00085 is on a distinguished road
Alright, thanks for the advice. I will try it when I get back stateside.
Old 01-20-2011, 09:20 AM
Banned
MotoGP

8541Hawk will become famous soon enough
It does work rather well. Normally I do shim the needles a bit more though.