Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Help!! What is this sound??

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2006, 07:36 PM
Moderate-whore
MotoGP

Randman is on a distinguished road
Help!! What is this sound??

I am sure someone or several of you guys can tell me what this sound is....The Hawk 99' 5,400 original miles---I can crank her up, after she is warm I goose the enigne, or hold the rpms at around 3k there is a clunk sound that happens....I am no mechanic so I have no idea what it is....it has done it once or twice within the last two weeks while I was riding, at a low rpm slow speed.....scared me so I parked it, and just cranked it up again today, road down the street few hundred yards, still doing it.....don't want to hurt anything so I will try and figure out what is wrong, and how to fix it.....Help is appreciated.....
Old 01-05-2006, 07:49 PM
Moderate-whore
MotoGP

Re: Help!! What is this sound??

Oil every 6 months, change again in March....no metal that I can see....

As for the sound...wow I am so new at this ok,....as I am sitting on the bike it seems like it comes from the lower front, maybe engine, just am not sure...I know that is not the greatest explanation....as for repeating the sound, yes....when she is running I can goose the throtle and make it happen....metal on metal----maybe...suppose I need to take it by the shop and let them listen to it....I just hate to ride it that far til I know if I will damage her....
Old 01-06-2006, 11:06 AM
Superstock

Speed_Demon is an unknown quantity at this point
It would really help to hear it but one sound I found unique to the VTR is if you give it too much throttle right away at a low rpm you get a backfire through the carbs. If thats the case either your carb are out of adjustment or is just a quirk of the bike.

Can you get a sound or video clip? My camera takes MOV clips. Do it and post it.
Old 01-06-2006, 11:50 AM
Moderate-whore
MotoGP