Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Fork Springs - Sonic vs. Racetech?

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2008, 12:41 PM
ReNoob
Squid

Sablotny is on a distinguished road
Fork Springs - Sonic vs. Racetech?

I'm still dealing with a lump of a Visa bill on the new bike and gear, but I feel I need to address the wimpy fork springs ASAP. I'm going to try 0.90kg/mm springs first, and then plan on a revalving later (unless someone here convinces me not to). I see Sonic springs are $79 and Racetech $119. Anybody have experience with Sonic? Any reason to spend $40 more? Thanks for any & all 4-1-1.
Old 08-30-2008, 06:30 AM
Sexual Daredevil
SuperSport

Location: Mother Earth- orbiting around Charlotte, NC. But now over the border in S.C.
motojoe is an unknown quantity at this point
I have Racetech in mine. Makes a huge difference over stock. I have no experience with Sonic.
Old 08-30-2008, 06:56 AM
MotoGP

superbling is on a distinguished road
I've only had racetech's in the past and they work but I think you're paying for their name/reputation which they've earned. I'd go with the sonics if it were me. If you'll be adding the racetech internals later, I'd order the spring rate they call for if it's different from sonics suggestion.

Do a fluid change/cleaning while you're at it. They will need it badly.
Old 08-30-2008, 07:24 AM
SuperSport

nnjhawk02 is an unknown quantity at this point
Originally Posted by motojoe
I have Racetech in mine. Makes a huge difference over stock. I have no experience with Sonic.
Ditto

But if ur in there - U might as well re-valve it at same time + fluids

Do it right the 1st time
Old 08-30-2008, 08:07 AM
SuperBike

trinc is on a distinguished road
i have sonics & recommend them. they dyno test every spring just like all the other players & they're a bit cheaper....
look at my track pics & you'll see i push my 'hawk about as hard as you can.