Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

CBR1100XX shock question

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2007, 10:10 AM
Utardian Extraordinaire
Squid

Involute is on a distinguished road
CBR1100XX shock question

Howdy folks, another SH newbie here with what is the first of many questions that I’m sure will come.

I’m a day or two from finalizing a deal on an 03 SH and have a question about the rear shock. Based upon the searching I’ve done it appears that the CBR1100XX shock is a relatively close match to the SH Shock. This is a good thing as I have a Wilbers #640 that I bought for my XX that was customized for my fat butt. The Wilbers has a 15mm ride height built in to it so it gets me closer to the 346mm stock length that I think the SH shock has. Based upon the Ohlins site the stock XX shock is 319mm with a stroke of 52mm. The +15mm my Wilbers has puts me at 334mm, just 12mm short of the stock SH length.

Being a relative suspension idiot I’m wondering if it’s just a matter of adding a 12mm shim at the top of the shock and bolting the Wilbers on the SH in order to get myself set up. If so do you think there is enough thread to add another 5mm or so for a total of 17mm in order to raise the ride height a little more than stock to get the quicker steering?
Old 09-17-2007, 10:56 AM
MotoGP

superbling is on a distinguished road
Welcome to the site!

I had to do this when I added a short penske cbr900rr shock to superbling.

Yup, you'll do fine assuming you have enough threads. If not, you can press out the bolt from the u-shape bracket and add a longer one. You might have to grind some of the bolt head off to clear the top of the shock. A carriage bolt tack welded into the bracket would solve that issue.

If you've been reading up on the VTR, you know front end work (especially at your weight) will also be needed.
Old 09-17-2007, 11:13 AM
Utardian Extraordinaire
Squid

Originally Posted by superbling
Welcome to the site!