Knowledge Base Feedback, Questions on Knowledge Base articles.

Simple DIY charge indicator

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2007, 06:42 AM
Out of my mind, back in 5
MotoGP

Tweety is on a distinguished road
Simple DIY charge indicator

I have been lurking here a while, reading and absorbing as much knowledge about the Superhawks as possible... So now I thougth if was time for me to contribute atleast somewhat to the knowledge...

I'm an electronics engineer student, so I feel at home tinkering with circuits...

So when my R/R failed I quickly built a simple indicator ligth for my VTR telling me if my bike was charging as normal or not... Dunno why Honda decided not to include this in the cluster as it's rather trivial... And easily as usable as the other indicator ligths that are included...

Description/How it works on the bike
This design is a simple indicator light suitable for just about any motorcycle, it has very few components, keeping cost to a minimum and making it easy to build even if you have limited knowledge of electronics.
Instead of a more elaborate voltage indicator which takes up space and will most likely be distracting in the dark with a diode fighting for your attention, this works similar to the type of charge light most cars have (and many bikes with a more detailed instrument cluster.) where the principle is “no news is good news”.
A red light comes on when the voltage drops down to battery voltage or below, indicating that the battery isn’t being charged properly, and a yellow light comes on at a high voltage, indicating overcharge. When the battery is being charged at normal voltage, no warning light is on.
Technical description (Not necessary to understand!)