General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

where is our "riding skills" section??

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2010, 08:57 AM
MotoGP

nath981 is on a distinguished road
where is our "riding skills" section??

shouldn't we a have section/category for riding skills? I know everyone who rides a superhawk is a macho, sophisticated , mature, knowlegeable, and generally higher skilled riders than the average in-line 4 sport rider neub with 6 inches worth of chicken strip on his back tire. hahahaha

I have been riding since 1963 when I was 20 except for 8 years when I quit because it was taking to much time from family. I have learned some **** about riding, much of it the dumb way, and am still evolving in terms of trying to improve, hone, and tweak mine and others' riding skills.

even though I am skilled, I still do stupid ****. My latest was yesterday when I slid through a stop sign and am still living another day because there was no traffic coming to smash me into oblivion. I couldn't believe it happened. Never would have guessed that sliding through a stop sign could be my waterloo. Sliding into the other lane on a curve, hitting a vehicle pulling out around a blind corner, sliding off the road into guardrails, trees, poles, or other, but sliding through a stop sign never occurred to me and never happened to me on any bike I've ever ridden.

Anyway, as my usual trying to learn from mistakes, i figured out how i got into this mess. Riding up to a stop sign fairly fast, but with plenty of stopping distance for dry road, I encountered an unusaul amount of gravel residue from the recent snows we've experienced this winter. The front tire broke loose and so I left off the front brake and hit the rear which I already had covered, however, still kept sliding right out onto the main road.

WTF. what a dumbass! Now that I wasn't slammed, where did i go wrong! How did I get into this trap. The answers are: too fast and positioned in the middle of the lane.