General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Plug in bike tire?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2007, 04:41 PM
Back Marker

SuperHawkins is on a distinguished road
Plug in bike tire?

So I can over a huge nail....dead in the middle of the tread. I threw a plug in it and it's holding so far... I'm thinking about dismounting the tire and patching it myself, being as it's in the middle of the tread and Ive been patching tires at work for 3 1/2 years..

My question is, how safe do you think it is? It's a Michelin Pilot Road and has maybe 2000 miles on it, it's practically new and I just can't afford a new tire.

What do you guys think?
Old 06-18-2007, 04:50 PM
MotoGP

lazn is on a distinguished road
I would patch it from the inside and leave the plug in there (well cut off what is sticking "into" the tire) then balance the wheel and ride without being too squidly until you can replace it. A blowout on a motorcycle is terrifying. But a patch is fairly strong and should be fine if you aren't regularly going 100mph, for a while anyways.
Old 06-18-2007, 07:43 PM
Administrator
World Champion

Hawkrider will become famous soon enoughHawkrider will become famous soon enough
Story:

I once used a plug on my RC51 rear tire. This was one of the cheapo $5 kits that you get at Auto Zone.

A month or so later I forgot all about that plug and did a top speed run against the Superhawk (my wife being the rider). I hit about 165.

Only later did I realize I still had the tire with the plug. Inspection revealed no problems at all with the plug or tire.

Would I do it again? Probably not. Was I lucky? Probably. Would I plug a front tire? No way!
Old 06-18-2007, 07:50 PM
MotoGP

nuhawk is on a distinguished road