General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Newb needing advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2012, 06:45 AM
Squid

kabulpostie is on a distinguished road
Newb needing advice

Hello All,
I've been lurking for a while and decided to join and post. This might be a long one so apologies in advance. I have been on a break from riding for 7 or 8 years after being rear ended on my CBR 600, got away with some bruising and as I was a starving student at the time who really couldn't afford payments and insurance I decided to take that as a sign and bowed out of the cycling scene. Fast forward to modern times. My brother picked up an old Ducati Monster and has had a blast making it his own. I finally got to hear it this winter and my pulse started racing and maybe even a little drool leaked out. Love the way the monster looks and sounds, but...not a big fan of maintenance intensive Italian stuff. Hearing his bike made me think of the first time I heard a Superhawk, probably around 2002? up around Chuckanut drive in Bellingham, WA, NW riders should be familiar. I hears that V twin sound and was in love.
Skipping the rest of my biography I am working in Afghanistan (Not a service member anymore) and have been spending way too much time on bike threads and am pretty sure I am ready to make a impulse buy I may regret. I found a 2004 Black SH with 3,161 mile on it for $4700. This seems like a great deal to me. I am going to have my brother call in the morning and get specifics..has it ever been down etc. But a HONDA with 3K seems like it would be better than new...Anyone want to talk me out of this ( Not the irrational buying a bike you have never sat on, heard or seen part) seemingly great deal?
Thanks for any insight you guys can provide.
Cameron
Old 03-21-2012, 07:50 AM
Former Superchicken Owner
SuperBike

RWhisen is on a distinguished road