General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

needing some info....

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 04:47 PM
Back Marker

dickard37 is on a distinguished road
needing some info....

I'm pretty sure it's time for a new clutch. It doesn't engage until it's almost all the way out.... my question to you guys is where are the deals? and what should I be looking to get?

I'm a mechanic and will be doing the work myself but I have never had the privilege of doing a clutch on a bike YET....... I also have the manual too.

I just need some direction to where the deals are for the plates and friction discs and if there are complete kits available???

Thanks in advance,,,,,
Old 12-01-2010, 07:30 PM
SuperSport

ranchomice is on a distinguished road
Did you recently bleed it?
Old 12-01-2010, 07:35 PM
Squid

superhawkwilly is on a distinguished road
Check eBay they have whole kits decent priced, and I'd try and bleed it..... New adjustable levers would
Old 12-01-2010, 07:36 PM
Superstock

AngryOlaf is on a distinguished road
The clutch is hydraulic... so shouldn't it always stay disengaged until almost out?
Old 12-01-2010, 08:30 PM
Back Marker

Originally Posted by AngryOlaf
The clutch is hydraulic... so shouldn't it always stay disengaged until almost out?
IDk about that honestly It just seems to me that the Hawk should let out way sooner than ALL the way at the end,,, I mean it doesn't engage until the very end

I reckon I could just take it apart and find out huh!

Originally Posted by ranchomice
Did you recently bleed it?
I haven't bled it but I need to that though and was going to that and the clutch at the same time.....
Old 12-01-2010, 09:36 PM
SuperSport

1971allchaos is on a distinguished road
I would take the suggestion of bleed'n the clutch res- before you really consider going into the engine- Being if you refer to the manual, - Coolant, water pump, then the cover for the clutch basket.