General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Im New and have just purchased a firestorm,

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2009, 01:09 AM
Squid

nick.p0306 is on a distinguished road
Im New and have just purchased a firestorm,

Hi all, im fairly new to biking and recently noticed the gears on bike have a little clunk, i.e not like geared cars, my first bike was a suzuki bandit 600 this had the same, but when i got the firestorm, i couldn't help noticing the gear shifting has a slight clunk,

Is this normal? i know that 1st to 2nd is renowned for it but even that sometimes goes in smoothly, but other times it doesnt, simalair with the othe gears.

thanks
Old 11-13-2009, 01:45 AM
Administrator
MotoGP

E.Marquez is on a distinguished road
Good oil.. do a search, find all 10,000 recommendations and then choose one, try it, chose another, make up your own mind on what a good oil is.. cuz no matter who you ask your going to get a ton of replies,

And Yes, the SH is clunky shifting.
At the no cast level is reminding you to shift with authority,, not harshly, but you cannot glide it in to gear…make a decision to shift and do so.

Next up would be the oil recommendation above.
After that two other things I found that add up to some very nice shifting.
Custom shifter and linkage from Jamie here on this list, look in the classifieds and you’ll see his post on the billet shifter he has available.
And you can improve upon it even more with the Factory Pro complete shift kit.

All told.. Quality synthetic 100% ester based oil, Jamie’s shifter and the Kit from Factory Pro makes for a slick shifting Super Hawk
Old 11-13-2009, 07:35 AM
Superstock

thefauxnarchist is on a distinguished road
yeah +1 to txsuperchicken's suggestions. quality full synthetic will make a night and day difference with shifting (just remember to compare warm before complaining :P) haha j/k hell even fresh conventional oil will make shifting feel better albeit only for a limited time.
Old 11-13-2009, 12:12 PM