General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Help me decide.

Old 10-27-2010, 05:38 PM
Squid

p0rnstar is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Help me decide.

Good day to you all. Im a newbie here so please bear with me.
I need opinions as to the pro's and con's of the superhawks twin powerplant compared to that of a big diplacement in-line 4, let's say of a zzr1100.
Reason as to why my sudden interest is that I got a call from someone who wants to trade in his Superhawk for my zzr1100(zx11). His hawk's a '01 model and has 36+++km on it's dial. Looks fresh though with the original paint, signals, cans and everything.

Here's a picture of his vtr...

Name:  c9f1781b.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  79.5 KB

looks pretty neat with the MRA 2bubble, belly pan and rim stripes.

Honestly, I've never ridden a vtwin sport bike, hence the hesitation. How is it compared to in line fours?

Here's what I'll have to give up...

Name:  2cc4d901.jpg
Views: 16
Size:  79.1 KB

Any comments and suggestions will help heaps in deciding. To tell you the truth, curiosity is making me root for the superhawk.

TIA!

Last edited by p0rnstar; 10-27-2010 at 06:14 PM.
Old 10-27-2010, 06:40 PM
Former Superchicken Owner
SuperBike

RWhisen is on a distinguished road
Go ride it and you decide.
Old 10-27-2010, 06:50 PM
MotoGP

7moore7 is on a distinguished road
^ what he said! I tried a bunch of bikes (most inline 4's and a suzuki tl1000) before "settling" on the hawk. I knew within 30 seconds which one I wanted. The big I4's have higher top end speed, more HP, blah blah blah, but really IMO it's whichever gives the highest grin factor. Someone else can fill you in on the detailed stuff but playing with low end torque and hearing the V-Twin rumble is worth more than a 172.7 mph top speed.

What I really want to know is why he is interested in getting rid of the 'Hawk? May want to investigate that one...
Old 10-27-2010, 08:02 PM
MotoGP

VTRsurfer is on a distinguished road