Greetings to all from a SH newbie!

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 10:15 AM
Superstock
Superstock

wyldryce is on a distinguished road
Greetings to all from a SH newbie!

Hello everyone,

Been lurking for a few days and thought I would introduce myself. My name is Ross and I purchased a '98 SH the other day from the original owner this past monday. The fellow had been a pretty devoted owner of his bike, and the ad for everything included with the bike read like a wish list of mods, so I couldn't pass it up. I've been itching for another sport twin for the last three years, ever since selling my '97 TL-S. I really was missing that v twin lunge, and throb. So much fun to ride. Anyway, this particular example I bought was doted on my the owner up until he met his wife to be, four years ago. Then, (unfortunately for the bike) it was put in a corner of the garage, and his other bikes (more suitable for passengers I'd guess) were ridden, while this one sat. The last tabs on it are from 2002. It had 33k on it when it was put away. He never intended for it to sit for this length of time, but it can happen I guess.

Needless to say, I am becoming exceptionally familiar with Superhawk carbs. Lucky me. Aren't those a sweetheart to get in and out of there? Oh well, it isn't gonna fix itself. what remains in the tank doesn't remotely resemble gas, so a good flush is in order. And the carbs have a fair amount of green gunk and varnish inhabiting them. I hope to have it running before bedtime tonight though.

It seems like you have a great community here, and I look forward to interacting with you all soon!

Thanks,
Ross (proud new VTR owner)
Old 05-03-2007, 10:21 AM
SuperBike

drew_c14 is on a distinguished road
Welcome.

Now gimme some pictures!
Old 05-03-2007, 10:22 AM
Superstock
Superstock

Will do, as soon as I get her up and running. Perhaps tonight!

-R
Old 05-03-2007, 10:23 AM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
Nice mods indeed! Welcome aboard