General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Finicky carb tuning

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2005, 09:40 AM
Squid

v2weapon
If you consider it logically, by modifying anything on your bike, you're essentially saying you think you are smarter than Honda's engineers. I have a PhD, and I don't think I'm smarter than those good folks in Japan. I've made mods, and usually there's bad that comes with the good. It's always a compromise. My carbs are jetted and seriously tweaked, and my bike runs great...but my fuel mileage sucks. Ask the folks who've tried the TPS mod about how much smarter they are than the Honda engineers. 8)

If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Jet kits are usually not a big deal for experienced tuners, but if your bike is running well now, and the spark plugs read right, leave it alone. If "keeping up with the Joneses" is a priority to you, your best bet is to take the money you'd spend modifying your VTR, and spend it on a bike that is faster from the factory.

...but I never follow my own advice. 8)
Old 07-07-2005, 09:46 AM
SuperSport

NOrrTH is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Finicky carb tuning

i don't like the message but he's right.
Old 07-07-2005, 09:54 AM
Squid

v2weapon
That did sound kinda snarky, didn't it? I'm sometimes a little too forthright. No offense intended.
Old 07-07-2005, 10:28 AM
SuperBike

Thumper is an unknown quantity at this point

Oh well i guess another Nashvillian can chime in too. I sorta of agree with SuperChicken, but i am a tinkerer and enjoy working on my ride as much as i enjoy riding her.

Yes the TPS mod is noticable
Yes the K&N filter is noticable
Yes the Jet kit (tuned right) is noticable

All that being said if you don't plan on a Dyno run with Fuel/Air mixture info before and after the mods then you will never know.

I added all the above including the Factory Pro ignition Advancer and my ride Air/fuel mixture is spot on from the bottom to the top, not to rich, not too lean right in the sweat spot.