General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

brake solution

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2013, 06:18 PM
gab
Squid

gab is on a distinguished road
brake solution

hi guys i just bought a 99 vtr and loving it.Since im new to this bike (i owned a sv1000s 4 years ago) i knew from reading the forum that the vtr had a brake problem... my question is with 30k km. and the stock rotor should i change everything or just the pad ? I found the braking hummm very lazy both front and rear. Btw i prefer stock over swapping some parts and im a street guy.
Old 09-07-2013, 08:55 PM
MotoGP

smokinjoe73 is on a distinguished road
If you are asking if you should replace the rotor then it would mean checking it for thickness. Cleaning them with scotchbrite/sanpaper and replacing the pads will hugely improve braking.

Braided stainless lines help alot too.
Old 09-08-2013, 05:35 AM
gab
Squid

gab is on a distinguished road
thks
Old 09-08-2013, 06:15 AM
MotoGP

Wolverine is on a distinguished road
Joe hit the nail right on the head. Follow that advice and if you are still unsatisfied, rethink the swap to the F4i brakes. They can be had for cheap on ebay and make a huge improvement.

This season I did the swap and installed a set of these:
Name:  P030713_2025.jpg
Views: 19
Size:  94.2 KB

Excellent pads IMHO.

And welcome to the forum!
Old 09-08-2013, 10:04 AM
MotoGP

I always chime in with this but HH racing pads are not even recommended for the street. They are what they claim to be which is for racing.

I know there are tons of street squids riding around on slick tires (which will never heat up) in full leathers (to look neat) and on racebikes, etc but hh pads are made to perform at high temps which you will almost NEVER see on the street.

There are other pads that will easily out-perform HH in initial bike and stopping power with NO heat up required.