General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Backfire

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2007, 07:25 AM
Squid

LeanRider is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Backfire

My first post here so let me introduce myself.
I acquired 1998 super hawk recently with 38000km on gauges.
Bike seem to be running fine with decent power and pull good handling as well, not what I am used to my last bike was 2005 ZX10R so I am running short for some 60-70 ponies, but bikes performs much better than what I was expecting, Still getting used to all the vibrations this thing produce.
I had K&N air filter installed and set of brand new Kerker carbon pipes (awesome sound)
Problem I am experiencing now is backfire a lots of backfire at low RPM on deceleration, city driving first, second & third gear.
Is the DynoJet stage 1 solution ?
Also I am new to V-Twin is it good idea to use full synthetic as engine oil ?
Any ides solving this problem will be appreciated

Thanks
Old 04-24-2007, 07:44 AM
SuperSport

swordfish is an unknown quantity at this point
its your PAIR valve. its completely normal. you can remove the pair valve and get blockoff plates. that will fix it. or you can just leave it alone, it won't hurt anything. I'm getting mine done this week. if your bike hasn't been rejetted since you got the airfilter and the pipes, you're probably running a bit lean too. might want to rejet. I have a stage 1 dynojet kit and I've never had a problem. some people say that the dynojet kit is harder to install than the other brands. full synth oil is fine. I run partial synth myself. I use honda oil, but some guys on here just use mobil 1. and it will slowly eat oil over time. don't worry about it. its normal for big twins.
Old 05-14-2007, 07:43 AM
Squid

Thanks for that info.
I just had a chance to do that mod over the weekend, it helped it still backfires occasionally on hard deceleration but not that annoying as it used to be
Thanks
Old 05-14-2007, 10:44 AM
Superstock