General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Anybody ever ride without front wheel spacers

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 10:01 AM
Squid

Duckhawk is on a distinguished road
Anybody ever ride without front wheel spacers

Newbie here,

About 6 months ago, I upgraded from an '89 Hawkgt to an '02 Superhawk (I've been smiling as hard as I can since then).

When I got the bike, it was apparent that I needed new tires (which I put off until last week). I dropped it off at a local shop to have them install some michelin pilot road 2's and then I got a phone call from the service dude. He said: "You're not going to believe this, but the front wheel spacers were missing on your bike." He was right - at first I didn't believe him, but after talking with him for a while he struck me as a straight shooter that had a process that would have caught missing spacers.

Does it seem possible that I could have ridden (sometimes pretty aggressively) for about 6 months without front wheel spacers and not notice it?
Old 05-20-2010, 10:08 AM
2nd mouse gets the cheese
SuperBike

Little_Horse is on a distinguished road
no you should really notice something like that. It would be sloppy as hell.

did you drop off the whole bike or just the wheels?
Old 05-20-2010, 10:24 AM
Squid

Dropped off the whole bike.
The dude claimed that although he had a process (a) put bike on lift, b) Indicate rotation of tire on discs with sharpie, c) remove tire, d) put spacers under corresponding forks, e) walk tire/wheel 10' to the tire machine, etc) he still hunted for the spacers that had to be there.
He then put the tire/wheel back on and discovered that the discs were kept in place well by the calipers.
Sorry for the long-winded reply, got a little carried away.
Old 05-20-2010, 10:32 AM
SuperBike

cliby is on a distinguished road