Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2005, 07:29 AM
Remember stock is BAD!
SuperSport
SuperSport

divingindaytona is an unknown quantity at this point
How I got into motorcycles

Ok so this week I have the flu, so I have a lot of time to kill

Just wondering what type of bikes the shawk owners have previously owned. How did you get into riding?

For me the superhawk is the first v-twin that I have had, and it was quite a difference from the inlines that I had before.

I have been riding for 10 years now. For many years I went dirtbiking with friends, one friend had 5 dirt bikes so there was allways one available. They had a nice little track set up in there back yard. He raced in the amature league.

The first bike that I owned was an 89 CBR 600 Hurricane. A little bit of history here.

I got the bike for $500. The bike had been downed at about 60mph. The frame was trashed and the rear rim was shot. Plastic was gone too!

A friend of mine Jeff went with me, we took his probe, it took about an hour and a half to get there. We slid the bike into the back of his probe.

I bought a new frame $500 and swapped everything over, bought new plastics etc...... This was my first time wrenching on a bike. All told I spent about $1500 on the bike and it ran like a banchie. Sold her years later with 35K on her for 300 bucks more than I had in her. I still have the pictures and some of the best memories are working on that bike.

I was still living at home and my father had the idea that "motorcycles are evil". He said that you wont have one as long as your under my roof. My girlfriend at the time had a pole barn, so we put it in there. My parents didnt even know.

My second bike was a 73 CB500Four. Got it for $500. Nice bike ran well, big difference from the CBR.

My third bike 81 Suzuki GS1000. Got it for $800. Big heavy bike, named her Burtha. Good amount of power shaft drive, good brakes. Good transportation, no worry of it being stolen.