Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Gear Clunk Its annoying!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 09:05 AM
Squid

nick.p0306 is on a distinguished road
Gear Clunk Its annoying!!

hi all,

Im fairly new to biking, and wanted to shed some light on changing gears (sounds silly i know)

Im aware of the clunk when engaging 1st but i find the storm tends to have an noticeble clunk when going through the gears. Not all the time though! ive adjusted the chain to see if this would help, it did for a while, and its started occasionally doing it again.

Im thinking its my technique, may staying in the low revs to change, as its a click when i push the gears to change at 6000 revs. does anyone have the same thoughts or am i worrying over nothing?

Cheers
Old 03-04-2010, 09:08 AM
SuperSport

zmaniv is on a distinguished road
Try shifting at 9000 RPM
Old 03-04-2010, 09:20 AM
SuperBike

uchi is on a distinguished road
Check your chain again. If it fixed the issue the first time then the chain may be stretched. Also these things have a common clunk/grind into second gear.
Old 03-04-2010, 09:26 AM
Squid

ive checked the chain this afternoon, and it feels a little tight, even though i adjusted it the other day and it had 2' of slack, now its probably 1".

9000 revs isnt that too much if your going from 1st to 2nd, or is that the norm?
Old 03-04-2010, 09:46 AM
SuperBike

RickB is on a distinguished road
1st to 2nd is clunky on these bikes, I added the Factory Pro detent arm kit and it made a noticeable difference - they also have the arm with an improved shift star as a kit which others have said makes it shift even nicer. Try searching for those posts on here.

Last edited by RickB; 03-04-2010 at 09:48 AM. Reason: content
Old 03-04-2010, 09:47 AM
Superstock

skoshere is on a distinguished road
I suggest shifting when you bounce off the rev limiter... seems to really smooth things out from 1st to 2nd!
Old 03-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Out of my mind, back in 5
MotoGP