Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Better crash protection for VTR

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2010, 09:06 AM
Back Marker

insider is on a distinguished road
Better crash protection for VTR

I'm gonna say it up front that this might seem like a retarded post, but bare with me:

Many months ago I've wrecked my VTR (had an accident).

I'm thinking of gettin' a bike early next year, and the only one I've got my mind on is the VTR.

Before the crash I dropped the bike two times. (once some **** cut me off,without any signals or whatsoever, and another one due to my own stupidity).

Now I've come to learn that no matter how careful you are with your bike or how well you might think you can ride or how well you can look after yourself, **** is gonna happen, at some point.

After my second fall (at about 30km/h when the bike skidded on the asphalt on one side) ,I studied the damage and I leaned the (standing) bike gently on both sides, to see which parts are prone to damage,should the bike fall on either sides.

I've attached a pic with some parts/areas where I think damage will occur if a small crash/fall happens.

I've seen that stock exhausts (which I had) work very well as crash-pads (i've painted in green where the exhausts take the beating).

Protecting the parts of fairing which might take the 'hammering' is quite difficult/next to impossible, but I wanted to know if there is any protection for the clutch box ,some sort of tri-metallic brace which can be mounted over it, to prevent crack/damage if it skids on the asphalt.

This might sound dumb, because I assume that mounting standard crash-pads might prevent the clutch box getting damaged,but i'm not sure yet.

I believe that with stock exhaust and a pair of crashpads the bike should be ok at a gentle drop/minor fall.

Changing the exhausts to aftermarket ones will put some serious damage on the tail (fairing)