SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   APE CCT noise difference (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/ape-cct-noise-difference-21370/)

Whittaz 01-24-2010 06:48 PM

APE CCT noise difference

Hi all,

I've just had APE CCT's installed by a local shop and I've noticed a difference in sound from the oem set (engine through to exhaust).

It's pretty much a ticking sound that varies with the revs of the bike. I'm assuming this is due to the APE CCT's not having the rubber tip that the oem set has. I'm not that experienced when it comes to cam chain noise but I would have thought a loose chain would be fairly loud and easy to spot.

I'm just curious if this is normal with the APE set as I'm not confident in making adjustments knowing what can go wrong.

Little_Horse 01-24-2010 07:06 PM

it may be needing to be tightened just a little. When I switched mine out the sounded exactly the same.

RK1 01-24-2010 11:28 PM

The OEM CCTs I pulled from my bike don't have rubber tips. I doubt yours do either.

When I installed my APEs, the rear was fine finger tight. The front was clanking/rattling loud as hell.

Start the bike and tighten the manuals until the noise goes away.

Whittaz 01-25-2010 12:22 AM

Seems the rear was a little loose. Tightened to spec and it sounds normal again!

Thanks all.

ranchomice 01-27-2010 08:42 AM

Originally Posted by RK1 (Post 251486)
The OEM CCTs I pulled from my bike don't have rubber tips. I doubt yours do either.

When I installed my APEs, the rear was fine finger tight. The front was clanking/rattling loud as hell.

With your fingers, not a wrench, right?

RK1 01-27-2010 08:54 AM

Originally Posted by ranchomice (Post 251776)
With your fingers, not a wrench, right?

Unless you've got REALLY strong fingers, you'll need a wrench!