Modifications - Performance Discuss aftermarket and DIY performance modifications

Intake Restrictors?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2005, 10:45 AM
Squid

AbeFM
Intake Restrictors?

Hey folks - I'm very new to the whole SuperHawk thing, the PO jetted (DynoJet - doesn't know what stage) and put a Leo single can on the bike with his own exhaust. All nicely done.

He hasn't touched the timming nor the manifold - but I'd seen in earlier google searches (which I can't find now!) that the stock rubber mounts that hold the carbs to the head have restrictor rings in them. They of course claim huge gains all across the board if you advance the timming, put in their jets, and pull out the restrictors.

Is there any truth to this? This bike feels a little less snappy and a little less powerful than the only other SuperHawk I test drove. These guys claimed improved mileage, too, for advanced timming. Personally, I'm tired of bikes eating cylenders from too much timming (or is it too much boost?) - and I bought this bike as reliable, fun transportation. But if this will get me back a bit of my mid range (which isn't lacking but could be stronger) and help mileage, that would be great.

Also, I can run 87 octane? That's what I've heard. The bike is a '98.

Thanks in advance, folks!
-Abe.
________
Strain index

Last edited by AbeFM; 03-17-2011 at 11:42 AM.
Old 08-16-2005, 01:45 PM
Back Marker

roadrun_fr
Re: Intake Restrictors?

sounds like manifold restrictors are only for some models (98/99/00 ?)
I've checked mine, 2001 european model : no restrictor.
Old 08-16-2005, 02:12 PM
SuperSport

jschmidt
The change to add the carb boot ring came in 2000.
Old 08-16-2005, 02:17 PM
Squid

AbeFM
So you're saying the restrictor is new in 2000, or it went away in 2000? Looks like a pain to get to those so I'd rather not pull it apart if I don't need to.