Knowledge Base Feedback, Questions on Knowledge Base articles.

Timing Issue?

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 03:50 PM
Squid
Squid

gwr12 is on a distinguished road
Timing Issue?

Hello, I am new to the superhawk. I just bought one two months ago and am loving it. It is a 2003 and had about 3400 miles on it when I got it and now has about 5200 on it. I have read through many of the posts here trying to learn as much as I can. It is bone stock.

The other day I was pulling into the gas station and there was a loud ‘clunk’ very metal sounding from the engine I believe. No other sounds of clanging, it seems to idle fine. There have been no other clunks since then.

I don’t know if I’ve read too many cct posts and am being paranoid, but I feel as though it is not quite as smooth at higher rpms. It’s hard to say if it has less power or not for me because it has so much more than my other bike. I am trying to decide if perhaps the timing chain skipped a tooth or two or if I’m being nuts. Can anyone give me some other symptoms if that would have happened? It's hard for me to imagine that if the timing is off it would idle fine? I suppose it’s best to pull the valve covers, make sure the timing is correct, and install APE’s (from all the reading I’ve done), but I was hoping someone could give me something to look for that would be a better indicator then my paranoia since I haven’t had the bike that long to really tell how much of a change (if any) there’s been.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,
gordon
Old 05-26-2011, 04:25 PM
MotoGP

lazn is on a distinguished road
The clunk was probably from the carbs (they do that sometimes) but do get the CCT's replaced since at 5200 you would not be the youngest CCT failure recorded. (2800 miles is the winner so far)

Also there is that new guy selling CCTs on here for less, can't vouch for him, but he seems a nice guy and it can save you some coin. https://www.superhawkforum.com/forum...al-ccts-25084/