General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

Tune up price help

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2013, 06:04 PM
Squid

General Maximus is on a distinguished road
Tune up price help

Men,
Been mostly a lurker on here for years. Have asked a few questions, but now need some more help. I am looking to get some things done to my bike. I am not going to do them myself, as I am not mechanically inclined or want to mess something up. I am a teacher, football coach and father of 4 so I don't have the time or money to waste on Self messed up repairs. Basically I want to know what the cost should be for the following items.
Carb clean and sync.
Chain adjusted.
R/R replaced.
New Battery.
Throttle cable tension adjusted......mine is way too tight.

I do not live near a big town and have little choices to take it to. The only dealer I have been to charged me 79$ for an oil change. It was in and out in 20 min. Any help wound be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and ride safe.
Old 03-24-2013, 07:28 PM
MotoGP

smokinjoe73 is on a distinguished road
Ooof. Thats a tough one since they kinda know they have you. Your only sorta hope is to call around for the best price. Those are some easy but pricey jobs since digging the carbs out is chargeable time.

What are your issues with the bike now. Are you sure you need the carb work? Throttle cable can be adjusted by hand with the adjusters at the grip. New battery can be done with a screwdriver.

It may be that you do want to expand your horizons and learn a little mechanical stuff just to not get ripped off.

Your other option is to look on craigslist for someone who does bike fixing on the cheap. There also has to be some small shops & not big stealerships around to go to.
Old 03-24-2013, 08:35 PM
Superstock

spladle160 is on a distinguished road
Max, I'd add up the hours and multiply by 100 plus new full price parts with %10 on top. So... Carb clean and sync = 2 hours (one for some of us at home who do it routinely)
Chain and battery = .5