SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/)
-   -   Newbie here (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/general-discussion-30/newbie-here-23188/)

MAB 07-17-2010 06:53 PM

Newbie here

3 Attachment(s)
Hey guys, Just want to introduce myself. My name is Mark, I got my superhawk about a month ago and now I'm finally getting around to joining the forum. This is also my first bike.......unless you consider the bike in my avatar a motorcycle, so I'm a newbie when it comes to motorcycles in general. I have been doing my research though so hopefully I dont ask too many stupid questions.

My bike is a 98 with 63k miles on it. I attached some photos of my bike down below. They're not too good; I need to get around to taking better ones. As you can see, one of the previous owners tried to polish the frame. Its cloudy and you can still see the sanding scratches :mad:. I'm not a fan of polished frames, but I think my only option to make it look decent is to re-polish it.

Also, Could any of you let me know if my rear rectifier is from a later model hawk? I've looked at the r/r posts and the stock ones I've seen don't have fins, assuming this has already been replaced.

The bike still has the stock cct's so once I get some spare change. I'm going to replace those.

When I was looking for a motorcycle I was considering an FZ-6, Fz-1, and the Superhawk. I hope you guys agree with me that I made the better choice ;).

superh1998 07-17-2010 07:29 PM

Definitely not the original r/r.
I actually like the black w/red stripes down the middle..looks pretty good.
Congratulations!

98VTRrider 07-17-2010 07:52 PM

welcome, nice looking bike. you will love it. you have my vote on the right purchase!

Syclone 07-17-2010 10:10 PM

That's not an R1/R6 piece (they are almost twice that big), probably a later year finned or aftermarket replacement, notice the stock wiring harness.