General Discussion Anything SuperHawk Related

99 SuperHawk CCT went bang. What's it worth?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 07:31 AM
Squid

GoGo Gadget is on a distinguished road
99 SuperHawk CCT went bang. What's it worth?

Bike went bang and died at 27,000 miles. It has sat in my garage for the last 2 years. I intended on either fixing it, or parting it out. I should say, "Having it fixed." as I am not a mechanic. I have hesitated on parting it out since I am not mechanically inclined. I had a guy offer $800 for it as is.

What is a honest price to ask for it?

Thanks
Old 12-29-2009, 07:43 AM
SuperSport

zmaniv is on a distinguished road
Why dont you fix it?
Where are you located at?
Old 12-29-2009, 08:12 AM
MotoGP

lazn is on a distinguished road
Well my view is: that bike if it were running is probably a $2000-$3000 bike depending on condition and location. (where you live)

Repairing that engine will cost over $1200, and replacing it with a used one from Ebay ~ $500 (+ship) if you do the work yourself.

With all that in mind, a bike with hard engine damage and carbs that will need cleaning from sitting isn't worth much. The only way to get a decent amount for it would be to part it out on Ebay. Otherwise if you want to sell it whole $800 is pretty reasonable.

But I am not an expert, nor should you take my word as law.

Last edited by lazn; 12-29-2009 at 08:43 AM.
Old 12-29-2009, 08:36 AM
Squid

Originally Posted by zmaniv
Why dont you fix it?
Where are you located at?

Located in Virginia, near DC.

I have not fixed it because I lack the knowledge for major work. I change oil, brake pads, etc, that's it.
Old 12-29-2009, 08:42 AM
MotoGP

You could buy this engine from Indierocker: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ENGIN...item19b8d2ecd8

and have it put in by a local shop. Not sure what they would charge to put it in though.
Old 12-29-2009, 09:01 AM
SuperSport

CentralCoaster is on a distinguished road