Everything Else Anything and everything NON-VTR related

Light Truck Advice/Opinions

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 02:39 PM
MotoGP

7moore7 is on a distinguished road
Light Truck Advice/Opinions

Ok so figured I'd see what everyone's opinion on here was-

I've been driving around AZ for the past 6 years with no A/C and it's time for an upgrade!

I was looking at something like Miata, but then I realized that it doesn't hold much more practicality than a motorcycle. I commute on the bike, and don't have a whole lot of people to haul around and realized that there have been more than one instance where I could have used a truck bed...

So, looking for a light truck now. The only two absolute requirements are that it has A/C and is a manual transmission. I'm not too much a fan of my automatic. I'm thinking that I want a smaller truck (you can strap a motorcycle on them if the tail is down, right?), I probably want a crew cab, and that's about it. So far I've been looking into American, but that's not a particular necessity: Range is up to about the $6k for the right truck, I would like to stay around $4k

So far the two that I keep coming back to are the:
1998-2004 Dodge Dakota
1998-current Ford Ranger

Any opinions or suggestions? The dodge actually gets pretty good reviews...

It's a pretty specific situation, but I like hearing people on this forum discuss things.
Old 02-28-2011, 02:44 PM
SuperSport

Stevebis1 is on a distinguished road
A friend of mine has what I think is called a Ford Explorer sport track. Basically a small P/U with 4 doors. I have no idea what they go for used, but looks like it would fit your description
Old 02-28-2011, 02:45 PM
ride it out
SuperSport

nothing is on a distinguished road
are you looking for a v6 or v8? maybe even an i-4 or 5-cyl?
Old 02-28-2011, 03:42 PM
MotoGP

Originally Posted by nothing
are you looking for a v6 or v8? maybe even an i-4 or 5-cyl?