Technical Discussion Topics related to Technical Issues

Superhawk won't stay running

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2017, 07:32 PM
Squid

Tonytm is on a distinguished road
Superhawk won't stay running

Hello everyone. I'm new to this form. So I recently bought a 1998 Honda superhawk. I was driving one day and came home and the bike started like missing really bad. And every time I give it gas it would stutter and stall. After a few times of trying to get it to restart it wouldn't start and just kill the battery. I've already taken apart the cards when I got the bike and clean the Jets. And I replaced the fuel filter and 1 fuel hose or line. If anybody has any information or has experienced the same problem I would greatly appreciate it if you could help me. Thank you!
Old 02-12-2017, 07:41 PM
MotoGP

smokinjoe73 is on a distinguished road
Did this problem occur after you did all that stuff to the carbs? The bike doesn't have a fuel filter stock so did you add one?

Did you let the gas tank get very low at any point?

The last time I fixed a similar issue it was after a guy washed his bike and got water in the gas tank. It can also happen with a bad tank of gas or dirt in the tank.

Figure out if you actually have a fuel filter installed. Also recharge the batter fully as a low battery will cause a slew of problems that wont even make sense.

If you recently worked on the bike you may have connected the vacuum line wrong and ran out of fuel in the lines.
Old 02-13-2017, 04:57 AM
Squid

Well when I got the bike. The bike would only run on Full choke. I had a friend who knows how to work on bike help me take apart the carbs. The Jets were clogged up. After we fixed that the bike ran like a dream. I have let the gas light come on twice since I've owned the bike. But I immediately got gas in it. I only put 93 fuel in. After a little bit I discovered a fuel leak from the pet ****. I rebuilt that and replaced a fuel line cause I thought the line was the problem.