Rider's Gear Discuss protective riding gear

Open face helmets?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2014, 05:45 AM
Retired- but not tired!
SuperBike

CrankenFine is on a distinguished road
Open face helmets?

I normally ride with a Shoei Qwest full face helmet on high speed Interstate commutes. But for tight twisty back road rides I prefer the larger field of view afforded by an open face helmet. I always ride with earplugs so wind noise is not a consideration. But weight and light control are.

I have been using an HJC FS-3 for a couple years and like it but I'd like to get something a bit lighter with an internal sun shield. I see models like this from Bell, Nolan and HJC. AGV has one with a moveable external sun shield. Cycle gear has one but that's a bit too cheap for me.

Anyone use open face helmets too and have a model you really like?
Old 02-09-2014, 07:16 AM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road
Here is my take on open-face helmets: NEVER! I have no desire to leave my face all over the pavement. In fact, while working as editor of a bike mag a few years back, I was approached to test the poser-esque Momo open-face helmet and told the sales manager at the magazine that there is no way I would do it, and was willing to lose my job over the matter. You don't cut corners on something as critical as helmet safety, and open-face helmets are just that.

Rant over!
Old 02-09-2014, 07:46 AM
Back Marker

slo1 is on a distinguished road
what mikstr said x2.

Kinda funny how the odds of crashing on high speed interstates is less than a 10th of crashing on twisty back roads.
Old 02-09-2014, 07:54 AM
MotoGP

mikstr is on a distinguished road