Members Rides Show off your SuperHawk!

CruxGNZ's '98 Superhawk

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 10:55 PM
Rex Kramer-Thrill Seeker
SuperBike

CruxGNZ is on a distinguished road
CruxGNZ's '98 Superhawk

I have been riding on and off for 23 years and ever since the Super Hawk came out, I have always wanted one. I have been without a bike for the past 5 years and really got the itch to get another one for 2011. I started hitting eBay and Craigslist. About a month into my search, I find a young guy selling a '98 Super Hawk for parts. The Craigslist ad had just been put up, so I was the first person to call him. Turns out he let his buddy ride the bike and he dumped it. Took out the right side radiator, right side mirror, busted the right side crankcase cover, and cracked the fairing. So the guy decided to strip it completely down and part it out. I asked him if I could buy it as is. To my surprise, he said yes. I got the bike for next to nothing! I thought he wouldn't go for it, because he would have made quite a bit more money parting it out. The very next day I drove an hour to pick it up. Besides being in parts, the bike had only 20k miles on it and a clean title.

First things first, I really went through the engine. It looks great, inside and out. So, I made my own manual CCT's. I just today installed a pair of '08-'09 CBR1000 stick coils, which was super easy. I also De-PAIR'd it today.

Whats left:

-I still need to get new bearings/seals for the steering neck
-Install the new/used crankcase cover (thanks again Pimpsterbim1)
-Install the stainless bolt/screw kit sourced from an eBay store
-Find a right side radiator
-Fix the cracked fairing
-Mirrors with integrated L.E.D. turn signals
-L.E.D. taillight with integrated turn signals
-New tires
-New paint job

Here's what it looks like now:

The previous owner hacked up a decent muffler and made a right side exit, single exhaust with Advance Auto exhaust piping. This will not be used.