SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   triple digit speeds!! (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/triple-digit-speeds-9048/)

blackboyonhawk 06-29-2006 07:39 AM

triple digit speeds!!

I was wondering if anyone can help me... everytime I reach upwards of 95 mph my hawk does not feel stable. feels kind of wobbly I am fairly new to riding but I do have the nerves to reach over 100 mph ,yet the bike just doesn't feel stable. oh yeah I have a brand new set of michelin pilots on my rooster so tires aren't the issue I think.....

blackboyonhawk 06-29-2006 07:48 AM

someone anyone please help

mikstr 06-29-2006 07:50 AM

your wobble could be caused by many things
- rear wheel properly aligned?
- check your forks, are they in the stock position as some owners raise them in the triple clamps (to quicken up the steering) and this can cause instability at high speeds if the forks have not been modified with stiffer springs
- check your damping adjustments on your forks, if they are set overly light it could cause a wobble
- is the rear shock shimmed? if so, see comment for raised forks
- what about the condition of your wheel bearings
- are the tires new? could be a defective tire
- could be swingarm bushings, or loose steering head bearings
- etc....

as you can tell, there are lots of possible causes

Mikstr

blackboyonhawk 06-29-2006 07:57 AM

wow im kind of a noob and just bought the bike but i know it doesnt feel right

cat0020 06-29-2006 08:10 AM

Check the more obvious:

Are both front and rear wheel balanced?

Any brake pads rubbing agains tthe rotors?

Are your tires in decent shape, nice and round?

Are your wheels round and true?

Is there a tight link in your chain?

At triple digit speed any of the above would cause the bike to feel unstable.