SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   timing chain/valve trouble (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/timing-chain-valve-trouble-26767/)

oldguy123 10-05-2011 02:11 PM

timing chain/valve trouble

My beautiful '98 SH with only 13000 miles did me a great disservice today. I never thrash this thing. Today, while enjoying the relief from the ATL heat, I had a sudden loud knocking noise coming from my front cylinder. It ran fine but the noise was obvious. I shut it down immediately. I'm really pissed and am ready to declare that I will never own another Honda V-twin. Do these things have a valve train issue I'm not aware of? Have I possibly stuffed a piston into an extended valve? Can it be saved? I'm a mechanical engineer with many years of wrench turning on high performance vehicles and don't trust the Honda dealer. Should I try it myself?

Thanks for any advice you can provide to the old guy.

Wicky 10-05-2011 02:14 PM

Sounds like the usual front CCT failure - presumably you had imploding OEM tensioners rather than manuals?

See the workshop knowledge base on replacing them. If you bent a valve or two prepare to roll your sleeves up and get stuck in.

PS. Do NOT on any account start the bike till you've inspected and fixed the damage. Once fixed along with replacing unfinned R/R you'll be back to reliably enjoying your beastie

oldguy123 10-05-2011 02:22 PM

Thanks for the response. It is virgin so the CCT is stock. I find it hard to understand why one would change an automatic tensioner to manual. Did Honda make a mistake on the auto tensioner? Sorry to be so dense but I had no idea about the tensioner and my dealer never mentioned it.

lazn 10-05-2011 02:29 PM

Originally Posted by oldguy123 (Post 315572)