SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Starter Replacement (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/starter-replacement-24214/)

superhawk98 11-13-2010 09:23 AM

Starter Replacement

First off hello!

I am new to both this forum and the motorcycle world. I recently got my licence in the summer time. I purchased a 98 superhawk 996 vtr last year and finally getting to ride it. About a month ago, my starter went. I only recently found a place that would fix it for the right price. I took the starter off one night and when I did, some oil came out. I checked my oil window when the oil stopped coming out, and it was still full. My handle bar fluids are still full so not sure where this oil/fluid came from or what to do now. Please help because I want to install the starter this way I can return it if the starter doesn't work not to mention get a few more rides in before the snow comes ;) If I forgot any valuable information i apologize in advance but let me know and I will fill in the blanks.

RWhisen 11-13-2010 09:36 AM

How much oil are you talking about? A little? A lot? Quarts? CC?

Welcome to the forum.

sheldonsl 11-13-2010 09:38 AM

You have fluid in your handle bar????

comedo 11-13-2010 10:46 AM

Reservoirs for clutch and brake fluid.
Dear '98: There's a service manual that's accessible via the Knowledge Base. You can find information about installing the starter there.

8541Hawk 11-13-2010 11:01 AM

You mean you lost your starter fluid....... damn you're FUBARed......lol

But actually it is nothing to worry about, it is normal to have a small amount of oil from the crankcase in there, just put it back together and go. ;)

PUSHrod 11-13-2010 11:16 AM

Can't wait until he finds out how expensive the blinker fluid is going to be.

Syclone 11-13-2010 12:57 PM

Originally Posted by 8541Hawk (Post 286510)