SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Sprucing up a bargain find (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/sprucing-up-bargain-find-34977/)

drumstyx 06-06-2018 09:07 PM

Sprucing up a bargain find

Picked up a '98 Superhawk (or is it Firestorm in Canada?) the other day for a pretty good deal. It has been roughed up a good bit (short previous owner did some real hack work to lower it -- including butchering the subframe, replacement in the mail) but runs quite well, and is generally in good shape mechanically (other than the subframe and a bent kickstand, all related to the short PO)

I'm new to this bike, but not bikes in general -- what should I look out for? Only drivetrain oddity is the single aftermarket shorty exhaust (loud!), will this negatively affect the engine? Headers aren't exactly cheap, so I don't mind keeping this one if it all runs alright.

Shifter peg has broken off and is replaced with a bolt, and original is cost-prohibitive, even on ebay -- the guy recommended in threads about this seems to have stopped making them, any alternatives?

Paint is *UGLY* white and chipping. How are those ebay fairing kits? How do the ones with tank covers fit?

E.Marquez 06-07-2018 05:19 AM

"Headers aren't exactly cheap"
OEM headers? https://www.ebay.com/itm/1998-HONDA-...AAAOSwXoRa43GC
https://www.ebay.com/itm/1998-97-05-...8AAOSwzQFZ-WuW
And perhaps ask here, might find one available.

"How are those ebay fairing kits?"

Look good from 6 feet.
Often require "fitting" hole making, hole adjustment
Are more fragile then OEM plastics..commonly develop stress cracks at mounting points..more so and quicker if you force, twist, bend to get the holes provided to fit the location of the mounting points.