SuperHawk Forum

SuperHawk Forum (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/)
-   Technical Discussion (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/)
-   -   Is it rich? (long) (https://www.superhawkforum.com/forums/technical-discussion-28/rich-long-9279/)

ruf455 08-09-2006 11:39 AM

Is it rich? (long)

I am new to these parts and trying to avoid getting stomped on for asking a question that has been asked many times. I have done some searching and asking around and figured I would pose TWO question here:

1. Upon deceleration my bike can and will pop at the volume of a gun shot out my pipes (stock cans). This is not your tasteful burble, it's a sharp pop of extreame volume of no particular rythm. I have my suspicions that the bike is running rich.

2. I don't know what the idle speed should be. With that, my bike was idling (after running a bit) @ 1500 RPM. I thought that was high, so I lowered it to 1000 RPM. When cold and after a proper choke start, it will not stay running unless it is warmed up for an extented duration (2 min plus). If I set the idle back up, it will idle just fine. Point of concern? or deal with it? easy way to fix?

I did find out that the bike had a jet kit and Jardine pipes... I wonder if the jet kit was left in the carbs? Could this lead to my concerns?

EngineNoO9 08-09-2006 11:47 AM

read the manual. idle should be at about 1200 rpm. popping is typical on carb'd bikes especially once pipes are done. we can't control decel like they can on FI bikes. we have to tune for acceleration and decel just has to deal with it. currently mine pops like crazy on decel. doesn't help that I removed the pair system either

ruf455 08-09-2006 12:09 PM